Who Participates

The plan considers the participation of each and every Antofagasta resident. To this end a Public-Private Council has been organized that will allow the different institutions in Antofagasta society to be represented, making them the protagonists of the Plan’s development and implementation.



The CREO Antofagasta Plan is organized based on the following structure:




The Public-Private Council (CPP) is comprised of over 40 institutions representing Antofagasta’s public sector, its private sector, and its citizenry.

The Council’s main function is to oversee the plan’s development according to the established goals, to act as a conduit for communications with the community and the organizations that represent it — channeling diverse points of view and community needs, in addition to promoting and facilitating the Plan’s implementation.

This institution is convened once every four months.


Who is on the Public-Private Council?

The Council is presided over by:

Regional Intendant Pablo Toloza Fernández

Mayor of Antofagasta Karen Rojo Venegas


The Public-Private Committee is presided over by an Executive Committee that represents the CCP’s interests in the development of the CREO Antofagasta Plan on a strategic and tactical level.

The Executive Committee’s mission is to guarantee the plan’s fulfillment, to ensure that the Plan operates transparently, to represent the CPP’s interests and to guide and facilitate the definition and implementation of initiatives.

The members of the Executive Committee, which is presided over by the Intendant and the Mayor, include representatives from:

Universidad Antofagasta

Universidad Católica del Norte

Asociación de Industriales de Antofagasta (Antofagasta Industrial Association)

Ferrocarril de Antofagasta (Antofagasta Railway, Contributors)

Cámara Chilena de Construcción (Chilean Chamber of Construction)

Minera Escondida (Contributors)

Chamber of Commerce and Tourism


The Executive Secretariat (SE) is the professional team in charge of executing the CREO Antofagasta Plan.

The SE’s objectives are:

  • Setting out a road map that attracts, organizes and generates synergies among public, private and community initiatives.
  • Fostering fluid interaction among the diverse consultants and the local institutional framework.
  • Creating an inclusive and participative vision that motivates the community (citizenry, public and private sectors) to implement it.

The Executive Secretariat’s team is comprised of:

Alejandro Gutiérrez Dagnino

Executive Secretary

Andrés Letelier Oteiza

Driving Initiatives

Christian Matus Madrid


Dafne Cabrera Reyes



This is the team that advises the Plan’s Executive Committee, working directly with the Executive Secretariat in the design and implementation of initiatives. The Technical Team consists in representatives of:

Regional Government

Municipality of Antofagasta

Universidad Antofagasta

Universidad Católica del Norte

Asociación de Industriales de Antofagasta (Antofagasta Industrial Association)

Ferrocarril de Antofagasta (Antofagasta Railway)

Cámara Chilena de Construcción (Chilean Chamber of Construction)

Chamber of Commerce and Tourism

Minera Escondida


The CREO Antofagasta Plan receives the advice of a panel of international experts with distinguished national and international track records, who will support the Plan’s strategic implementation.

The CREO Antofagasta panel of experts consists in, among others:


Enrique Peñalosa
Economist and former mayor of Bogota.

Richard Burdett
Former urban adviser to the London Mayor, Professor at the LSE

Mario Marcel
Deputy Director, OECD Directorate for Public Governance and Territorial Development.

María Emilia Correa
Attorney, partner at TriCiclos